The Hebrides

Genres: , , Places: ,

The islands of the Hebrides off the west coast of Scotland are divided into two parts.

Inner Hebrides

There is the scattered group of the Inner Hebrides, of which Islay, Jura, Mull and Skye are the largest, with myriad smaller islands and islets.

Outer Hebrides

Further west is the long north to south chain of the Outer Hebrides with the main islands of Lewis and Harris (geographically one island) to the north, then North and South Uist, with Benbecula between them, and Barra and Mingulay in the south.